I am an only child. I have no knowledge of sibling spats. I don’t know what is normal and what is not normal when it comes to sibling silliness.

Penguin is good with his brother overall. I can’t complain much. But then there are instances where a tremendous WTF emerges from deep within and I am left questioning what I sh0uld expect and what I should do.

Let me give you an example. If Owl picks up something that belongs to Penguin, Penguin wants it back. Now, I don’t have a problem with this. I have a problem with the secondary reaction. Penguin will generally snatch the toy back. The snatchery presses on my tolerance and patience, but I sort of let that go. However, the snatchery, more often than not, is followed with a push, hit or bump of some sort. Now this behavior I deeply dislike.

Papa Bird is one of three boys and he thinks nothing of it. His response is, “Meh, this is what brothers do. If no one is bleeding or grievously harmed, let it go.”

I have a hard time just ignoring it, but I am not sure what to do. Penguin seems to be doing this out of irritation. He is not inappropriate with or mean towards Owl otherwise.

So I suppose I have a few questions.

1. This is normal sibling stuff, but what should I do in response?

2. Why all the hitting? What’s this all about?

