I would not have believed it had I not seen it with my own eyes, but Owl walked yesterday!!

First, I was sitting with Penguin and futzing around with a light up orb toy. Owl was sitting about 2 or 3 feet away. He pulled himself up on a chair and walked over to Penguin and I. We were both so shocked that we stared at each other for a few moments and then started laughing and hugging Owl. It was really sweet.

The next time he walked – about 15 minutes later – I was on the phone with Papa Bird, placing our dinner order. Chipotle, naturally. Anyways, Owl pulled himself to standing on the couch and then toddled about 6 or 7 steps towards me. That time, though Papa Bird didn’t get to see it, he got to hear our enthusiastic reaction.

I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again. Though many decry the point at which their children walk, I just love it. We’re now that much closer to embarking on all the adventures I know are out there just waiting to be had.

I must note, however, that this is considerably younger than Mr. Penguin, so that is the only part that caught me unaware. I believe Penguin was about 14 months old when he started toddling around. At 11 months, Owl is a bit younger. But then, Penguin has always been a more cautious sort. Owl seems less so. I wonder if this pattern will hold as they grow older.

